Leaders of the city

Dublin's first citizens, 1500–1950

Ruth McManus & Lisa-Marie Griffith, editors

Catalogue Price: €14.95
ISBN: 978-1-84682-425-8
Catalogue Price: €45.00
Limited Stock – only 1 copy remaining
ISBN: 978-1-84682-347-3

May 2013. 224pp; ills.

The lord mayor is the first citizen of Dublin city and chairperson of the elected council. The office of mayor, created in 1229 and restyled lord mayor in 1665, has been held by diverse individuals who have left their mark on the city in sometimes surprising ways. Covering themes such as civil liberty and civic politics, religion and the urban environment, this book profiles some of the best known figures to have held the office of lord mayor – including Sir Daniel Bellingham (Dublin’s first lord mayor), Daniel O’Connell, J.P. Nannetti, Lorcan Sherlock, Kathleen Clarke (first woman lord mayor of Dublin) and Alfie Byrne – as well as others who, although less well-remembered today, played a significant role in urban politics and society.

Appendices: Chronological list of Dublin’s lord mayors; Brief note on the Mansion House, official residence of Dublin’s lord mayor; Dublin’s civic regalia.

Ruth McManus is senior lecturer and head of the Geography Department at St Patrick’s College, DCU. Lisa-Marie Griffith holds a PhD from the School of Histories and Humanities at Trinity College Dublin and is coordinator of the Culture and Heritage Studies programme at the National Print Museum, Dublin.