Leaders of the city

Dublin's first citizens, 1500–1950

Ruth McManus & Lisa-Marie Griffith, editors

Catalogue Price: €14.95
ISBN: 978-1-84682-425-8
Catalogue Price: €45.00
Limited Stock – only 1 copy remaining
ISBN: 978-1-84682-347-3

May 2013. 224pp; ills.

An introduction to Dublin’s first citizens
Lisa-Marie Griffith & Ruth McManus

Mayor Francis Taylor (1595–6), the martyred mayor
Colm Lennon

Sir James Carroll: a pragmatic Protestant mayor in the early seventeenth century
Patricia Stapleton

Mayor William Smith (1642–7, 1663–6, 1675–6) and the building of the tholsel
Raymond Gillespie

Sir Daniel Bellingham, Dublin’s first lord mayor, 1665
Janet Redmond

John Exshaw: champion of Dublin’s merchants
Máire Kennedy

Henry Gore Sankey: the portrait of a perfect mayor, 1791–2
Lisa-Marie Griffith

Lord Mayor Thomas McKenny and Catholic emancipation, 1818–19
Jacqueline Hill

Daniel O’Connell and Dublin’s quest for a new mayoral image, 1841–71
Mary E. Clark

‘A rather mild sort of rebel’: J.P. Nannetti
Ciarán Wallace

‘Little’ Lorcan Sherlock, 1912–15
Lydia Carroll

Lord Mayor Laurence O’Neill, Alderman Tom Kelly and Dublin’s housing crisis
Ruth McManus

Legendary Lord Mayor Alfie Byrne
David McEllin

Kathleen Clarke, first woman lord mayor of Dublin
Helen Litton


I. Dublin’s mayors from 1500 to 2012
Dublin City Library and Archive

II. A brief history of the Mansion House, Dublin
Mary E. Clark

III. The Dublin city regalia and Dublin city silverware