The South Circular Road, Dublin, on the eve of the First World War
This publication examines life for Dublin’s South Circular Road population under a variety of topics using databases created with the 1911 census data supported by other relevant sources. The early road planners intention to create a circular road around the inner city was mostly achieved in the 2½-mile-long residential road divided into five postal districts commencing at Portobello, through Dolphin’s Barn, Rialto, Kilmainham and Islandbridge, before crossing the river Liffey to end at the Phoenix Park. The route provides a unique synopsis of Dublin’s development, incorporating a range of religions and cultural groups, each bringing a distinct cultural footprint, evident in some placenames and in the variety of places of business, employments and worship.
Part of the Maynooth Studies in Local History series (Raymond Gillespie, series editor)
Dublin-born and reared, Catherine Scuffil’s interest in local history was formed at an early age encouraged by parents who also shared a love of Dublin. As secretary to the Dolphin’s Barn Historical Society she edited their publication ‘By the sign of the Dolphin’ in 1993. Catherine is a graduate of the Masters in Local History programme at NUI Maynooth.