The Old Library, Trinity College Dublin, 1712–2012

W.E. Vaughan, editor

Hardback €49.50
Catalogue Price: €55.00
This title is currently only available for US deliveries
ISBN: 978-1-84682-377-0
January 2012. 480pp; over 250 colour and b&w ills.

This lavishly illustrated volume is published to celebrate the tercentenary of the laying of the foundation stone of the world-famous Old Library in May 1712. The stately building houses collections of international importance that are still being added to by gift and purchase. Almost fifty contributors explore the features of this remarkable building and its contents. There are essays dealing with specific books and manuscripts in the library (Book of Kells, Kelmscott Chaucer, Annals of Ulster, Brut chronicle, Fagel Missal), collections and archives (Beckett, Davitt, Pollard, 1641 Depositions, Cuala Press, Harry Clarke), individuals associated with the library (Claudius Gilbert, Jonathan Swift, James Stephens), maps, drawings, children’s books, music, exhibitions held in the library, the second-hand booksale, the printed catalogue and the conservation laboratory.

Contributors: Robert Armstrong; J.R. Bartlett; Helen Beaney; Charles Benson; Susie Bioletti; Elizabethanne Boran; Nicola Gordon Bowe; Karen E. Brown; Ann Budd; John G. Byrne; Joseph Clarke; William Francis Cooper; William J. Davis; Úna Faulkner; Lydia Ferguson; Peter Fox; Nicholas Grene; Fiana Griffin; Michael Halliday; P.J. Hartigan; Charles Hepworth Holland; Jacqueline Hill; Livia Hurley; Heather Jones; Raymond Jordan; Helen Kelly; Patrick Kelly; Carla King; Stephen Lalor; Shane Mawe; Jane Maxwell; Daniel Mc Carthy; Edward McParland; Bernard Meehan; Andrew Megaw; Kenneth Milne; John Montague; Clodagh Neligan; Caoimhe Ní Ghormáin; Ellen O’Flaherty; Felicity O’Mahony; Micheál Ó Siochrú; Susan Parkes; Dirk Passmann; Nicholas K. Robinson; Kathryn M. Rudy; John Scattergood; Eimear Saunders.

W.E. Vaughan, formerly senior lecturer in history in Trinity College Dublin, is an editor of A new history of Ireland and the author of Murder trials in Ireland, 1836–1914 (2009).